Home

4 thoughts on “Apple TV an image

  1. I’ll be really interested to read your feedback on using an Apple tv. The concept is brilliant for a classroom, being able to show your screen on the projector from anywhere…or indeed any child device. However, it does have some drawbacks hat I hik need to be thought through. For example, if you are demonstrating how to use an app you tend to have to stand at the front and point to the screen anyway…well you do if you want to get to the point most efficiently. I find in those situations a visualiser is actually more useful as a giant finger appears on the projected image and touches the required “button”. Then here are the issues of managing the fact that anyone on the wireless can hijack he screen. Don’t get me wrong, I use one at our centre with groups of children all the time but I have learned when to use it to best effect, such as showing a video clip.
    For lts more info on the stuff we are up to in a huge range of settings from EYFS to sixth form:
    http://www.spiketown.wordpress.com

    • I agree with you that Apple Tv is different to the whiteboard idea where you are able to get children up and click on things. You do also have to point at certain areas on the screen to show specific things on the iPad. However I don’t personally see this as much of a problem. If I want to point things out on my interactive whiteboard linked up to my computer I have to stand by the screen and physically point things out also. However now with Apple TV and my iPad I can walk around the room and change the display without having to stand near the screen. I also now have the option of children displaying their work up on the screen in literal;y seconds which is perfect for how learning should be, with sharing and collaboration.
      I also believe that if other pupils hijack the display, then they loose their iPad for a period of time, they soon learn not to do it again. If you get them to personalise the background on the iPad, you can quite easily tell who was doing the hijacking.
      I think apps like Explain Everything and Book creator take away that need to do too much pointing on the screen as they pretty much speak for themselves.
      I agree that there are drawbacks to Apple Tv, but I believe the advantages far outweigh the disadvantages, (particularly the price compared to that of an interactive whiteboard) and should be used for many things, not just video, but for sharing work, peer marking, modelling processes, etc etc.
      Thanks for your comment…

  2. Oh I agree, there is definitely a place for both and skilled teachers know when to do both. As I think I said, I use an Apple TV all the time with students but I just want people to be clear what they are very useful for. I have heard of schools that have essentially got rid of interactive whiteboard to be replaced by LCDs with Apple TV. I think this is crazy and techno-romanticism at its most dangerous. Somethimes, the ability to use the board interactively is the best option, sometimes displaying work from the staff or children is the best option and wireless is the most efficient option in those situations. I have never personally had a problem with the screen being hijacked but can you imagine the situation in a large school where all children have an ipad. There is no way that at some point a disgruntled child won’t decide to find a rude picture and post it on a random screen somewhere in the buidling (as all Apple TVs will be on the wireless system) and the traceability will be pratically zero…unless I have misunderstood how the TVs work? In a primary class this is less likely by the nature of having your own children most of the time but in a secondary? I dunno, I’m making my comments in the hope that someone can give me answers.

    Don’t get me wrong, if you look at the blog I posted the link to you will see that we have iOS devices in a huge number of schools and they are used really successfully. We have been “mobile learning” for five or six years now and have learned a lot, but that is why I ask people to be really clear about how the kit is really useful but also where it has its drawbacks. That way people can go in at least with their eyes open.

    Keep up the good work though, I am enjoying reading how you are getting on.
    ST

    • Yeah agree that there are issues more so in Secondary. You can password Apple Tv so that you have to enter a password before using it, however, once they know it, you’d need to keep changing it. This isn’t too much of a hassle as I can imagine that most schools have one or two classes that have Apple TV, so they could quite quickly change the password before each session.
      I think schools should realise that there are benefits to both the Apple Tv set up and the whiteboard set up. Younger children still need the touch/control aspect of the interactive whiteboard, whereas older children/students have those skills and can quite easily get away with not having that extra practice on the big board.
      Personally in my upper Junior class I would prefer a Tv and Apple TV (and at least 1 between 2 iPads) because I can now provide children with so much more access to material and resources that will support their learning, and then share and comment on these materials using my Apple TV.
      Thanks again for your comment and taking the time to read the blogs.

Leave a Reply

